Ospedali Regionali
Torna a Ospedali Regionali News

Italy, the new elected representatives of the Superior Council of Health

On 20 December 2017, the new Higher Health Council was appointed by the Minister of Health, Beatrice Lorenzin, in accordance with article 7 of the d.P.R. March 28, 2013, n. 44.

The Superior Council of Health is the highest scientific technical advisory body of the Minister of Health. Now, the Minister is addressed to the Council, as well as in cases expressly established by law, in all the others where there are questions or problems of scientific technical value before the adoption of legislative, regulatory or administrative acts.

The Superior Health Council is composed of thirty nominated members, in office for three years and identified on the basis of their very high level of competence in the disciplines in which Italian public health is organized, as well as twenty-six members by right. Among the thirty members nominated, fourteen are women.

At the settlement meeting they were re-elected by acclamation:


Prof. Roberta Siliquini

Professor of Hygiene at the University of Turin - Director of the School of Specialization in Hygiene and Preventive Medicine of the University of Turin - President of the Degree Course in Medicine of the University of Turin


Prof. Adelfio Elio Cardinale

Professor emeritus of Radiology at the University of Palermo

Prof. Eleonora Porcu

Associate Professor at the Department of Medical and Surgical Sciences of the University of Bologna

Here are the other components:

Prof. Maria Pia Amato

Associate Professor in Neurology - Department of Neuroscience, Area of ​​Medication and Child Health, University of Florence

Prof. Rocco Bellantone

Dean of the Faculty of Medicine and Surgery of the Catholic University of the Sacred Heart of Rome - Full Professor of General Surgery - Director of the Endocrine and Metabolic Surgery Unit of the A. Gemelli Hospital in Rome

Prof. Francesco Bove

Professor of Human Anatomy and clinic of the musculo-osteo-articular apparatus at the La Sapienza University of Rome - Faculty of Medicine and Psychology

Prof. Placido Bramanti

Full Professor of Applied Medical Technical Sciences at the Department of Biomedical and Morphological and Functional Imaging Studies of the University of Messina - IRCCS Scientific Director of the "Bonino Pulejo" Neurolesi Center of Messina

Prof. Elisabetta Cerbai

Full Professor in Neurology - Department of Neuroscience, Drug Area and Child Health University of Florence

Prof. Anna Clerico

Associate Professor of Pediatrics Responsible UOC of Pediatric Oncohaematology of the Policlicnico Umberto I of Rome

Prof. Antonio Colombo

Attending Cardiologist, Stamford Medical Hospital, Stamford, CT, USA - Visiting Professor of Medicine, Columbia University Hospital, New York, USA - Professor of Clinical Medicine, New York University, New York, USA - Primary Hemodynamics and Interventional Cardiology, S Hospital Raffaele of Milan

Prof. Bruno Dalla Piccola

Scientific Director of the Bambino Gesù Pediatric Hospital - IRCCS of Rome

Prof. Elisabetta Dejana

Full Professor of General Pathology at the Department of Oncology and Emato-Oncology of the University of Milan - Head of the Angiogenesis Program at the IFOM-FIRC Institute (Italian Foundation for Cancer Research) of Molecular Oncology in Milan

Prof. Gabriella Fabbrocini

Associate professor of venereal and skin diseases of the Department of Clinical Medicine and Surgery of the University of Naples Federico II

Prof. Napoleone Ferrara

Distinguished Professor of Pathology, University of California, San Diego Senior Deputy Director for Basic Sciences, UC San Diego Moores Cancer Center

Prof. Silvio Garattini

Director of the "Mario Negri" Institute for Pharmacological Research, Milan

Prof. Adriana Ianieri

Ordinary Professor in Inspection and Hygiene of Food of Animal Origin at the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine of the University of Parma

Prof. Andrea Lenzi

Professor of Endocrinology, Director of the Section of Medical Physiopathology and Endocrinology of the Department of Experimental Medicine at the "Sapienza" University of Rome - President of the National University Council

Prof. Alberto Mantovani

Professor of General Pathology at the Faculty of Medicine and Surgery of the University of Milan - Scientific Director of the "Humanitas" Institute of Milan

Prof. Mauro Marchionni

Professor Emeritus of Gynecology and Obstetrics at the University of Florence

Prof. Giuseppe Novelli

Rector of the University of Studies of "Tor Vergata" - Director of the UOC Laboratory of Medical Genetics of the University Policlinico of Tor Vergata

Prof. Anna Teresa Palamara

Professor of Microbiology at the Faculty of Pharmacy and Medicine - Coordinator of the Microbiology Section of the Department of Public Health and Infectious Diseases, "Sapienza" University of Rome

Dr. Gloria Pelizzo

Director of the Department of Surgery Pediatric Hospital ISMEP Palermo

Prof. Antonino Perino

Professor of Gynecology and Obstetrics at the University of Palermo - Director of the U.O.C. of Obstetrics and Gynecology of the Ospedali Riuniti Villa Sofia-Cervello of Palermo

Prof. Manuela Roncella

Director of the Clinical Center of Senology of the University Hospital of Pisa - Professor of Female Tumor Surgery and Plastic Surgery at the University of Pisa

Prof. Anna Sapino

Professor of Pathological Anatomy at the University of Turin - Scientific Director of the IRCCS private law Piedmont Foundation for cancer research Onlus

Prof. Giovanni Scambia

Full Professor at the Catholic University of the Sacred Heart A. Gemelli Hospital in Rome - Director of the Department for the Protection of Women's Health, of the Rising Life, of the Child and of the Adolescent at the Catholic University of the Sacred Heart, Policlinico A. Gemini of Rome

Dr. Giuseppe Segreto

General Practitioner - President of the medical-surgical society Eracleo - Selinuntina

Prof. Mario Stirpe

IRCCS President "G.B. Bietti Foundation" of Rome for the study and research in ophthalmology

Prof. Marcella Trombetta

Professor of Chemical Foundations of Technologies, Professor of Chemistry of the Faculty of Engineering of the Campus Bio-Medico University of Rome - Director of the Laboratory of Chemistry for Engineering and Tissue Engineering of the CIR - Integrated Research Center, of University Campus Bio-Medico of Rome belonging to the PRABB - Advanced Research Center in Biomedicine and Bioengineering operating in the Technological Park of the Lazio Region

Dr. Vittorina Zagonel

Director of the Department of Experimental Clinical Oncology IRCSS IOV, Padova

The 26 members of the Council's right (Article 7, paragraph 3, of the aforementioned Presidential Decree) are: the general managers of the Ministry of Health, the president of the Higher Institute of Health, the directors of the National Blood Center and the National Center transplants, the Director of the Regional Health Services Agency, the Director General of the Italian Medicines Agency, the Inspector General of Military Health at the General Staff of the Defense, the Chairman of the Permanent Scientific Committee of the CCM, the President of the Federation national orders doctors surgeons and dentists (FNOMCeO), the president of the Federation of Italian pharmacists orders (FOFI), the president of the National Federation of nursing colleges (IPASVI), the president of the National Federation of obstetric colleges (FNCO), the president of the National Council of Order of psychologists, the president of the National Federation of Italian Veterinary Orders (FNOVI) and the president of the National Federation ionale medical technical colleges of medical radiology (F.N.C.P.T.S.R.M.).

Participation in general meetings and section meetings of the Council is, for members, honorific.


Source: Ministry of Health